CORPORATE FINANCE No. 09-10 2018

Prof. Dr. Alexander Götz / Moritz Stahl

Prof. Dr. Alexander Götz is Professor for Entrepreneurship/Corporate Finance at the DHBW, Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg, Villingen-Schwenningen. Moritz Stahl, B.A., is a law student at the University of Regensburg.
The average per capita compensation of the Executive Board changed only slightly in 2017 in the DAX with a decline of 0.4%. The trend of rising compensation from previous years has therefore not continued. In the MDAX, Management Board members earned 2.8% less in 2017 than in the previous year.

The average per capita compensation of the Executive Board changed only slightly in 2017 in the DAX with a decline of 0.4%. The trend of rising compensation from previous years has therefore not continued. In the MDAX, Executive Board members earned 2.8% less in 2017 than in the previous year. A multi-year comparison shows a positive correlation with the economic development of the companies. In relation to EBIT, it can be seen that the top performers tend to pay below-average compensation in absolute terms, which is why the criticism sometimes voiced about the level of Executive Board salaries cannot be accepted.

I. Introduction
The annual general meetings of DAX and MDAX companies are registering ever higher rejection rates with regard to executive compensation, although the topic has been the subject of intensive debate for many years. Either the companies have not understood the capital market requirements or the shareholders are becoming more critical. However, it may also be due to the increasing influence of voting rights advisors, who have made the topic of management board compensation one of their main focuses. For this reason, the main developments in the remuneration of the Management Board are described below
can be worked out. The study on executive board compensation of DAX and MDAX companies from 20171 for the reporting year 2016 will be extended below with the data for 2017. In the process
the absolute and relative development of the remuneration of the Management Board. In addition, the individual compensation components (fixed, STI and LTI) are evaluated. In addition, ratio indicators are formed, on the one hand in comparison to the EBIT of the company, on the other hand in relation to the average
Personnel expenses of the respective company. These key figures provide a useful benchmark, particularly in the context of the appropriateness requirements of the legislator. The ratio of Management Board remuneration to EBIT is
a simple and good indicator over time of the extent to which the “pay for performance” principle is followed.

II Empirical findings of the analysis 2006 to 2016
In 2015, the remuneration of the members of the Management Board rose by 2.8% in the DAX and by 6.8% in the MDAX3 , and in 2016 the increase was…..

Article as pdf.

CORPORATE FINANCE Nr. 09-10 2018

Prof. Dr. Alexander Götz / Moritz Stahl

Prof. Dr. Alexander Götz ist Professor für Entrepreneurship/Corporate Finance an der DHBW, Duale Hochschule Baden-Württemberg, Villingen-Schwenningen. Moritz Stahl, B.A., ist Student der Rechtswissenschaften ander Universität Regensburg.
Die durchschnittliche Vorstandsvergütung pro Kopf hat sich in 2017 im DAX mit einem Rückgang um 0,4% nur geringfügig verändert. Die Entwicklung steigender Vergütungen aus den Vorjahren hat sich demnach nicht fortgesetzt. Im MDAX verdienten die Vorstände in 2017 2,8% weniger als im Vorjahr.

Die durchschnittliche Vorstandsvergütung pro Kopf hat sich in 2017 im DAX mit einem Rückgang um 0,4% nur geringfügig verändert. Die Entwicklung steigender Vergütungen aus den Vorjahren hat sich demnach nicht fortgesetzt. Im MDAX verdienten die Vorstände in 2017 2,8% weniger als im Vorjahr. Im Mehrjahresvergleich gibt es eine positive Korrelation mit der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung der Unternehmen. In Relation zum EBIT zeigt sich, dass die Spitzenreiter bei der absoluten Höhe der Vergütung eher unterdurchschnittlich zahlen, weshalb der teilweise geäußerten Kritik an der Höhe der Vorstandsgehälter nicht gefolgt werden kann.

I. Einleitung
Die Hauptversammlungen der DAX und MDAX Unternehmen verzeichnen immer höhere Ablehnungsquoten im Hinblick auf die Vorstandsvergütung, obwohl seit vielen Jahren intensiv über das Thema diskutiert wird. Entweder haben die Unternehmen die Kapitalmarktanforderungen nicht verstanden oder die Aktionäre werden kritischer. Möglicherweise liegt es aber auch an dem zunehmenden Einfluss der Stimmrechtsberater, die das Thema Vorstandsvergütung zu einem ihrer Schwerpunkthemen gemacht haben. Daher sollen nachfolgend die wesentlichen Entwicklungen in der Vorstandsvergütung
herausgearbeitet werden. Die Studie zur Vorstandsvergütung von DAX- und MDAXUnternehmen aus dem Jahr 20171 für das Berichtsjahr 2016 wird nachfolgend mit den Daten für 2017 erweitert. Dabei wird
die absolute und relative Entwicklung der Vorstandsvergütung dargestellt. Zudem werden die einzelnen Vergütungsbestandteile (Fix, STI und LTI) ausgewertet. Außerdem werden Verhältniskennzahlen gebildet, zum einen im Vergleich zum EBIT des Unternehmens, zum anderen in Bezug zum durchschnittlichen
Personalaufwand der jeweiligen Gesellschaft. Vor allem im Rahmen der Angemessenheitsvorgabe seitens des Gesetzgebers bieten diese Kennzahlen eine hilfreiche Messgröße. Das Verhältnis der Vorstandsvergütung zum EBIT ist
ein einfacher und guter Indikator im Zeitablauf, inwiefern dem Prinzip „pay for performance“ gefolgt wird.

II. Empirische Erkenntnisse der Analyse 2006 bis 2016
Im Jahr 2015 stieg die Vergütung der Vorstände im DAX um 2,8% und im MDAX um 6,8%3. In 2016 betrug der Zuwachs…….

Artikel als pdf.